RPG Designer for Dungeon Vault Magazine

Since early 2022 i have started a cooperation with Elven Tower and I have been submitting a few pretty innovative adventures that combine four critical aspects:

1. making a semi-permanent magic item that is specific to the adventure so that the pcs won’t be full of magic items and they lose their interest, rarity and value

2. offering stories that are fairy-tale-like (actually they are fairy tales of my own, I told my sons to put them to sleep!) with less violence and an aim to the story the background and the immersion

3. being system agnostic or freely adaptable to any system since I don’t offer stats for enemies and give general guidelines for skill checks that can be adapted to any system

4. the stories are also non-specific level so that the encounters, difficulty level and general description can be changed accordingly to suit most parties.

i did all the above firstly because there were a thousand words limit so I had to be very vague but also because I thought that these adventures could be available for all parties as they can be inserted into their own campaign as a comic relief or a fairy tale immersion.

so in my first adventure published in issue 21 of may 2022

I wrote a horror-winter tale with wolves!

since I liked the format I kept it for the next two published adventures using tables for rumours, events and how the pcs arrived in the site of the adventure adding a randomness element if the dm don’t wish to create as many details!

next came issue 25 july 2022 with a magical mirror and a witch that cursed a town and a lot of snakes!

my last submitted adventure was in the issue 27 November 2022

and a fascinating tale of a magical gown and a talented tailor with various tasks to accomplish in order to make the magical gown.

i have many such fairy tale stories and making a magic item adventures ready to publish but since there is a three month hiatus in order for many other designers to publish their works so it will be a long process…

eventually when about ten or so adventures have been published I have a mind to rework them again in order to be made into a final supplement that can be even played as a mini campaign. it will need many maps, stat block for monsters and more details since I wont have the two page limitation but this will have to wait a bit…

my latest collaboration with elven tower is a supplement for expanded faction rules based mainly in 5e. the rules about factions are very thin with few details while I will propose a more detailed campaign like approach to factions.

my first take will be noble houses where you begin as a poor knight and may rise to become a lord if you lucky or bold enough!

there will be an article in issue 29 January 2023 giving a few insides of the upcoming supplement and later will follow the new book.

So I am now working as a games designer in the RPG industry which I loved since a teenager.

please support independent publishers like elven tower in their patreon page full of maps, virtual tokens, adventures and more!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.