Steps to becoming a great fantasy world-builder: guest Viel Nast

John Robin's Blog

For those who saw my recent call for guest posts on fantasy topics, today I’m excited to share the first article on world-building, from author Viel Nast. Viel celebrates the recent release of his book, Savage Swords: The Great Old Ones series, which you can find out more about at the end of the post. (And no doubt after reading about the awesome tips he shares, using his world as a case study, you’ll be curious to check it out!)

Viel NastMy love for reading came from an early age when my parents read me children’s books. Later, when I learned to read, I devoured any book I could get my hands on. The turning point for my immersion into epic fantasy was buying the Lord of the Rings centenary edition at 1992, celebrating the hundredth birthday of J. R. R. Tolkien. From then on, and with my small teenage (and later…

View original post 1,892 more words

Leave a Reply

